National symbols and emblems

National emblem (coat of arms): the 14-pointed star on the emblem represents the equal status of the 13 federation members and the Federal Government together with the crescent, the traditional symbol of Islam. The five kris represent the former non-federated Malay states while the four former federated Malay states are represented by the four centre panels. The shield is guarded by two tigers on each side and a banner at the bottom reads “Unity is Strength” (Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu).

1 – The Malaysian flag: named Jalur Gemilang with effect from Aug 31, 1997, it consists of 14 red and white stripes of equal width, a union of carton of dark blue, a crescent and a star. Islam is symbolised by the crescent and the star with its 14 points symbolising the unity of the 13 states of the federation with
the Federal Government.

2 – National anthem: Negaraku was adopted on Sept 16, 1963 and selected by a special committee headed by first prime minister Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj.

3 – National animal: the tiger was chosen as the national symbol of Malaysia and included in the national emblem. It is also known as the Lord of the Jungle.
4 – National flower: hibiscus, known as bunga raya.

5 – National Mosque: designed and supervised by the Federal Public Works Department, the building occupies an area of 2,090 square metres. The mosque
includes a hall, a mausoleum, a library, offices, an open courtyard and a minaret. It is a national symbol.

6 – National Monument: this Malaysian symbol has been dedicated to those who have died in the cause of peace and freedom for the country. Standing on a commanding site at the Lake Gardens in Kuala Lumpur, the whole area has been reserved for the national monument. The monument has five principal features: the National Monument itself, a long reflecting pool with fountain, a crescent-shaped pavilion, the cenotaph and ancillary gardens.

7 – National language: Bahasa Melayu, the national language, was established under Article 152 of the Constitution. Used for official purposes, including the federal and state governments, and as defined by the constitutional amendment of 1971 by all authorities and statutory bodies.
8 – National Principle: Rukunegara is the declaration of national philosophy instituted by royal proclamation on Merdeka Day, 1970.

Read more @

Comments are closed.