Bloom’s Taxonomy Overview

Here’s a really simple adapted ‘at-a-glance’ representation of Bloom’s Taxonomy. The definitions are intended to be simple modern day language, to assist explanation and understanding. This simple overview can help you (and others) to understand and explain the taxonomy. Refer back to it when considering and getting to grips with the detailed structures – this overview helps to clarify and distinguish the levels.

Cognitive Affective Psychomotor
knowledge attitude skills
1. Recall data 1. Receive (awareness) 1. Imitation (copy)
2. Understand 2. Respond (react) 2. Manipulation (follow instructions)
3. Apply (use) 3. Value (understand and act) 3. Develop Precision
4. Analyse (structure/elements) 4. Organise personal value system 4. Articulation (combine, integrate related skills)
5. Synthesize (create/build) 5. Internalize value system (adopt behaviour) 5. Naturalization (automate, become expert)
6. Evaluate (assess, judge in relational terms)

(Detail of Bloom’s Taxonomy Domains: ‘Cognitive Domain – ‘Affective Domain – ‘Psychomotor Domain’) Bloom’s Taxonomy in more detailed structure follows, with more formal terminology and definitions. Refer back to the Bloom Taxonomy overview any time you need to refresh or clarify your perception of the model. It is normal to find that the extra detail can initially cloud the basic structure – which is actually quite simple – so it’s helpful to keep the simple overview to hand.

Read more @

Comments are closed.