Premier Schools in Malaysia.

Premier Schools:

Premier Schools are schools that are over 100 years old which have been selected and awarded as cluster schools due to their achievements in the academic and co-curriculum fields. These schools have produced many national leaders, corporate figures, professionals, sportsman and scholars who have contributed significantly to the growth of Malaysia in this era of globalisation.

SM St. Thomas:

SM St. Thomas is the oldest school in Sarawak. Founded in 1948 by Reverend Francis Thomas Mcdougall, St Thomas. This school was originally located at Sungei Sarawak. It subsequently moved to its present location known as College Hill situated in the center of Kuching City.

St. Thomas has created history for Sarawak by becoming a pioneer in many aspects and winning awards at the national level. In 2006, SM St Thomas was officially recognised as a “Sekolah Lestari” due to it being an environment friendly school.

SM Victoria.

SM Victoria, better known as Victoria Institution was officiated on 14th August 1893 by Mrs. Hood Treacher, wife of the then Resident of Selangor. SM Victoria is today a five-star smart school and its 115 years of excellence has resulted in the school being selected as a cluster school in 2007.

SM Convent Bukit Nanas:

SM Convent Bukit Nanas is a well-known premier girl’s school in Kuala Lumpur. Built in 1899, this school with its English Gothic architecture is situated on a two-acre site near the peak of Bukit nanas Forest Reserve.

SM Bukit Nanas consistently excelled in the academic and co-curriculum fields. In 2007, this school was selected as a cluster school.

SM All Saints, Likas.

SM All Saints was established as King Edward VII School on 22nd December 1903 and officiated by the Governor E. W. Birch. The new building was built in 1909 in Likas and was officiated by the the Governor Sir Ralph Hone.

SM All Saints has played a major role in the growth of education in Sabah and has been awarded as a premier school.

Four premier schools honoured in stamps:

The four premier schools have been honoured with special sets of stamps and first-day covers by Pos Malaysia Berhad in December 2008.

SM Victoria and SM Convent Bukit Nanas in Kuala Lumpur, SM St Thomas in Kuching and SM All Saints, Likas in Kota Kinabalu were chosen for their successful achievements in the academic and curriculum fields.

Pos Malaysia Bhd stamp and philately unit head Yasmin Ramli said during the launching that the schools had produced many national leaders, corporate figures, professionals, sportsman and scholars “who have contributed significantly to the growth of Malaysia.”

Colourful covers: Pos Malaysia Berhad corporate communications department senior assistant manager Maisara Noor Ahmad showing the first-day covers during a preview in Kuala Lumpur during the launching.

The first day covers with a set of four stamps was sold at RM2.30 each while a folder costs RM5.50. A set of 20 stamps, with each stamp in 50 sen denomination, was sold for RM10 while a folder with a complete set of stamps of the schools and a first day cover cost RM47.80.

Read more @ :

Comments are closed.